Attendance Hotline English y Español - 503-431-5631 - please have your student's ID ready
Oregon law requires parents/guardians to see that children between the ages of 7 and 18 years attend school regularly. It is the legal responsibility of the parent to have their children in school, and ensure the student attends school regularly and in a timely manner (Reference: ORS 339.010-339.020). This responsibility lies with the student as well.
How to excuse an absence?
Parents/guardians are requested to call the Attendance Hotline at 503-431-5630 in advance of an absence.
Please have your student ID# ready.
Excused absences include:
- Personal illness, medical, psychological, and dental care
- Illness or death in the family
- Family emergencies
- Release time for religious instruction
- Observance of religious holidays
- Pre-arranged absences
- School-sponsored activities
For general attendance questions, please call Debbie Harrison, 503-431-5631
What if I forgot to call in advance of an absence?
Please call the attendance hotline, 503-431-5630, within 48 hours to excuse an absence.
Under Oregon State Law, parents are responsible for maintaining their child’s regular school attendance.
Verification of an absence: An excused absence must be reported by the parent or guardian responsible for the absence.
As stated by Oregon Revised Statute 339.020, Families have 48 hours, or two school days, after the student’s return to request that an absence be excused.
Distance Learning Attendance Information/ Alternate Present
The expectation is that your student will log in at the beginning of all online learning sessions. If a student is unable to attend their online class a parent should call the Attendance Hotline (503-431-5630) to report the absence and the student should email their teacher as soon as possible.
Attendance for Hybrid Model and Comprehensive Distance Learning shall use the same guidelines. Students who interact with staff in a manner that involves two-way communication shall be counted as present for the class period. Interaction can be evidenced by any of the following or reasonable equivalents:
- Participating in a video class.
- Communication from the student to the teacher or instructional assistant via chat, text message, or email.
- A phone call with the student.
- Posting completed coursework to a learning management system or web-based platform or via email.
- Turning in completed coursework on a given day.
When there is no evidence of student interaction by midnight on a scheduled school day as described, students are reported as absent.
Automated Daily Attendance Calls
Automated Absence Notification System
Beginning December 14th, families will receive an afternoon RoboCall and RoboText if their high school student has incurred one or more unexcused absences in interactive classes on that calendar day. To excuse an absence, parents/guardians can call bilingual the TuHS attendance line 503-431-5630.
Robocalls/texts will be sent for unexcused absences related to interactive classes only, including Wednesday Community Check-In. If your student does not attend interactive class on a specific day but demonstrates “alternate present” through interaction with their schoolwork via Canvas or a Google Meet, email, or phone call with a teacher on that day, the unexcused absence will be removed.
If you have any questions, contact your school’s attendance secretary, Debbie Harrison, at 503-431-5631.
Learn how to track your student's attendance on ParentVUE Here