• THS Attendance office

    Attendance Hotline (English & Spanish)

    503-431-5430 
    Have your student's Id# ready

Attendance Guidelines

  • Oregon law requires parents/guardians to see that children between the ages of 7 and 18 years attend school regularly. It is the legal responsibility of the parent to have their children in school, and ensure the student attends school regularly and on a timely manner (Reference: ORS 339.010-339.020). This responsibility lies with the student as well.

    Excusing Absences

    Parents/guardians are requested to call the Attendance Hotline at 503-431-5430 in advance of an absence.
    Please have your student ID# ready.

    Excused absences include:

    • Personal illness, medical, psychological and dental care
    • Illness or death in the family
    • Family emergencies
    • Release time for religious instruction
    • Observance of religious holidays
    • Pre-arranged absences
    • School sponsored activities

    General attendance questions, please call Jessica Magnusen, 503-431-5431

    What if I forgot to call in advance of an absence? 

    Please call the attendance hotline, 503-431-5430, within 48 hours to excuse an absence.
    Under Oregon State Law, parents are responsible for maintaining their child’s regular school attendance. 
    Verification of an absence: An excused absence must be reported by the parent or guardian responsible for the absence. As stated by Oregon Revised Statute 339.020, Families have 48 hours, or two school days, after the student’s return to request that an absence be excused.

Distance Learning Attendance Information

  • The expectation is that your student will log in at the beginning of all online learning sessions. If a student is unable to attend their online class a parent should call the Attendance Hotline (503-431-5430) to report the absence and the student should email their teacher as soon as possible. 

    Attendance for Hybrid Model and Comprehensive Distance Learning shall use the same guidelines. Students who interact with staff in a manner that involves two-way communication shall be counted as present for the class period. Interaction can be evidenced by any of the following or reasonable equivalents: 

    • Participating in a video class.
    • Communication from the student to the teacher or instructional assistant via chat, text message or email.
    • A phone call with the student.
    • Posting completed coursework to a learning management system or web-based platform or via email.
    • Turning in completed coursework on a given day.
    • When there is no evidence of student interaction during a 24-hour period surrounding a scheduled school day as described, students are reported as absent. 

    When there is no evidence of student interaction during a 24-hour period surrounding a scheduled school day as described, students are reported as absent.

     ODE Distance Learning Guidelines

Automated Daily Attendance Calls

  • Automated Absence Notification System

    We are no longer sedning out robo calls at the end of the school day to alert you about your student missing class.

    Learn how to track your student's attencance Here