Information on Becoming a Facility Activity Driver

  •  

    Type 10

    Minimum requirements for Type 10 vehicles and drivers are:

     Vehicle

    • 10 passengers or less including the driver
    • Bus weighs 10,000 pounds or less

    Driver

    • 18 years old.
    • Valid driver’s license.
    • Possess First Aid Card - Contact the School Nurse: Nancy Haning ex: 5633.
    • Pass Driving and Criminal records check.
    • Attend a classroom training session by an authorized trainer at the transportation department on the ability to operate and the laws and regulations required for a Type 10 certification.
    • Be on an approved driver list maintained at the Oregon Department of Education.

    Training Requirements

    • Emergency procedures and evacuation training.
    • Vehicle Pre-Trip training.
    • Specialized training for special education transportation.
    • Take a written and driving test.
  •  

    Type 20

    Minimum requirements for Type 20 vehicles and drivers are:

    Vehicle

    • 15 passengers or less including the driver
    • Bus weight is not more than 14,500 pounds

    Driver

    • 18 years old.
    • Valid driver’s license.
    • Possess First Aid Card - Contact the School Nurse: Nancy Haning ex: 5633.
    • Pass Driving and Criminal records check.
    • Attend a classroom training session by an authorized trainer at the transportation department on the ability to operate and the laws and regulations required for a Type 20 certification.
    • Be on an approved driver list maintained at the Oregon Department of Education.

    Training Requirements

    • Emergency procedures and evacuation training.
    • Vehicle Pre-Trip training.
    • Specialized training for special education transportation.
    • Take a written and driving test.
  • For more information and to schedule a class contact:

    Robert ODell

    Tigard/Tualatin School District
    Lead Driver/Trainer
    503-431-4196